Enter your keyword

Tags: Queens Honours list

E18 Salient Māori News Week ending 5 June 2020

Queen’s Birthday Honours

The following New Zealand Honours and Queen’s Service awards were conferred to Māori, or people giving services to Māori, on 01 June 2020.


To be Dames Companion of the said Order:


To be Knights Companion of the said Order:


To be Companions of the said Order:


To be Officers of the said Order:


To be Members of the said Order:

The Queen’s Service Medal (QSM)

Other News

  • Kingi Snelgar and Tracey McIntosh have been appointed Commissioners to the Criminal Cases Review Commission. Mr Snelgar has been appointed for a five-year term and Ms McIntosh will serve for a three-year term.
  • Sir Jerry Mateparae has been appointed the chair of the Healthier Lives – He Oranga Hauora National Science Challenge.
  • Dr Tanira Kingi has been appointed a member of the Landcorp / Pāmu board.
  • On Wednesday, the Minister for Child Poverty Reduction, Jacinda Ardern, and the Minister for Women, Julie Anne Genter, announced from October the Ministry of Education will commence fully funding sanitary products for girls in schools. The products will initially be available in 15 low-decile schools across the Waikato region and in 2021 the programme will be expanded to all state and state-integrated schools, on an opt-in basis. The purpose of this initiative is to reduce school absenteeism of young women who stay at home during their periods due to not having access to sanitary products.
  • The Ministry for Women have opened applications for a COVID-19 response fund. The purpose of the fund is to provide some financial relief for organisations (impacted by COVID-19) which support women and girls. Applications close on Monday 15 June. More information on the fund can be found at the link below.
  • Next week Te Whānau o Waipareira will commence trialling three mobile container health clinics in West Auckland.

Appointments and Awards – 10 June 2016 (19/2016)


[1] Note it is possible there were also other Māori recipients of awards that were not identified as Māori, or for providing services to Māori.

Māori news stories for week ending 8 June 2012 and Queen’s Birthday Honours List 2012 – recipients for service to Māori.

 Debbie Packer has been appointed to the Local Government Efficiency Taskforce. The Taskforce will focus on efficiency issues of local government consultation, planning and financial reporting practices. A report is due to the Minister of Local Government, David Carter, in October 2012.

 Mavis Mullins has been appointed to the Health and Safety Review Taskforce. The Taskforce will undertake a strategic review of the New Zealand Workplace Health and Safety systems. The Taskforce will report to The Minister of Labour, Kate Wilkinson, during the latter months of 2012.

 Hemi Rau and Paki Rawiri have been appointed to the board of Tainui Group Holdings, fulfilling representative places of the Waikato Tainui executive, Te Arataura. Mr Rau and Mr Rawiri will replace Rahui Papa and Rukumoana Schaafhausen.

 Te Whare Wānanga o Awanuiārangi has been accused of breaching the Education Act for referring to itself as an ‘Indigenous University’. (The word ‘University’ is a protected term.) The matter is under investigation by the Ministry of Education.

 Te Whānau-a-Apanui and Greenpeace are awaiting a High Court decision to quash the oil exploration permit off the east coast of the North Island issued by the Government to the Brazilian energy company Petrobras in 2010. The case was heard in the Wellington High court on Tuesday.

 The Intellectual Property Office has declined Te Rūnanga o Toa Rangātira application to trademark four haka phrases – Ka Mate, Upane Kaupane, Whiti Te Ra and Ka Ora.


Queen’s Birthday Honours List 2012 – recipients for service to Māori.

Dames Companion (DNZM)

 Mabel June Hinekahukura Mariu, CNZM, QSM, JP, for services to Māori and the community.

 Member of the New Zealand Order of Merit (MNZM)

 Tracey Tania Houpapa, JP, for services to business and Māori.

 Vera Whakaaronui Wilson, for services to Māori, music and the community.

 The Queen’s Service Medal – (QSM)

 Ruahine Albert, JP, for services to Māori and the community;

 Yvonne Moana Bidois, for services to Māori;

 Takawhiti Te Oraiti Calcott, for services to Māori and education;

 Edward Matchitt, of Opotiki, for services to Māori.

 Frances Karen Pointon, for services to Māori and the deaf community;

 Ariana Simpson, for services to Māori and the community; and

 David Tamatea, for services to disability support and Māori.


Editorial Correction

In last week’s edition within our brief on water policy we incorrectly referred to the Waiapu River, instead of the Waipa, when discussing the Ngā Wai o Maniapoto Act (2012). We apologise for that.